Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Durga Devi

Durga is the Hindu Goddess of war. She is the first of the Hindu great Goddesses, formed by the female energies of the original male dieties. A fearful demon Mahishasura, had grown so powerful that he could not be defeated by God or man. Only the combines force of Shakti, the female aspects of the male Gods, would be able to triumph over Mahishasura. Knowing this the Gods joined together to form the Goddess they call Durga. Each contributed part of there magic to her creation-Shiva created her face, Chandra (The Moon God) formed her breast, Indra her Torso, Vishnu her ten arms, Varuna (God of Oceans) her legs and thighs, Brahma her feet, Agni (God of Fire) Her three eyes, and Vayu (God of wind) her Ears. The Gods also gave her Divine weapons which to fight-a trident - trishul, a disc, a Conch shell, a spear, a bow and arrows, a thunderbolt, a bell, a sword, a shield, an axe, armor, and a lion to ride on.

Armed with the powers of the Gods, Durga rode out to meet Mahishasura. The Demon was able to change forms, and each time it appeared Durga had him defeated, He would change and his vigor would be renewed. Throughout the battle, Durga remained calm and untroubled. Finally, after 9 days of fighting, She behaded the demon and peace was restored.

Durga's name means "The inaccessible" and is one of the 108 names of Durga used as a prayer or meditation.

Durga (The inaccessible)

Devi (the Diety)

Tribhuvaneshwari (Goddess of the Three worlds)

Yashodagarba Sambhoota (Emerging from Yashoda's womb)

Narayanavarapriya (Fond of Narayana's boon)

Nandagopakulajata (Daughtar of the Nandagopa Race)

Mangalya (Auspicious)

Kulavardhini (Developer of the Race)

Kamsavidravanakari (Threatened Kamsa)

Asuraksyamkari (Reducer of the number of Demons)

Shilathata Vinikshibda (At birth, Slammed by Kamsa)

Akashagamini (Flew in the sky)

Vasudevabhagini (Sister of Vasudeva)

Divamalya Vibhooshita (Adorn with beautiful garlands)

Divyambaradhara (Beautifully Robed)

Khadgaketaka Dharini (Holder of sword and shield)

Shiva (Auspicious)

Papadharini (Bearer of others Sins

Varada (Granter of boons)

Krishna (Sister of Krishna)

Kumari (Yound girl)

Brahmacharini (Seeker of Brahma)

Balarkasadrushakara (Like the rising Sun)

Purnachandra Nibhanana (Beautiful like the Moon)

Chaturbhuja (Four armed)

Chaturvattra (four Faced)

Peenashroni Payodhara (Large Bosomed)

Mayoora Pichavalaya (wearer of Peacock Feathered Bangles)

Keyurangadhadharini (Bejwelled with Armlets and Braclets)

Krishnachhavisama (Like Krishna's Radiance)

Krishna (Dark complexioned)

Sankarshanasamanana (Equal to sankarshana)

Indardhwaja Samabahudharini (With shoulders like Indra's flag)

Patradharini (Vessel-Holder)

Pankajadharini (Loutus Holder)

Kanttadhara (Holder of Shiva's neck)

Pashadharini (Holder of Rope)

Dhanurdharini (Holder of bow)

Mahachakradharini (Holder of Chakra)

Vividayudhadhara (Bearer of various Weapons)

Kundalapurnakarna Vibhooshita (Wearer of Earings covering the Ear)

Chandravispardimukha (Beautiful like the moon)

Mukitavirajita (Shining with Crown Adorned)

Shikhipichhadwaja Virajita (Having Peacock Featherd Flag)

Kaumaravatadhara (Observer of fasts like Young Girls do)

Tridivabhavayitri (Goddess of the three worlds)

Tridashapujita (The Goddess of the Celestical)

Trailokyarakshini (Protector of the three worlds)

Mahishasuranashini (Destroyer of Mahisha)

Prasanna (Cheerful)

Surashreshtta (Supreme among Celestials)

Shiva (Shiva's Half)

Jaya (Victiorious)

Vijaya (conqueror)

Sangramajayaprada (Granter of victory in the war)

Varada (Bestower)

Vidyahasini (Resident of the Vidhyas)

Kali (Dark-Complexioned)

Kali (Goddess of Death)

Mahakali (Wife of Mahakala)

Seedupriya (Fond of Food)

Mamsapriya (Fond of Flesh)

Pashupriya (Fond of all beings)

Bhootanushruta (Well wisher of Bhootaganas)

Varada (Bestower)

Kamacharini (Acting on ones own Accord)

Papaharini (Destroyer of Sins)

Kiriti (Famed)

Shree (Auspicious)

Dhruti (Valiant)

Siddhi (Successful)

Hri (Holy Chant of Hymns)

Vidhya (Wisdom)

Santati (Granter of issues)

Mati (Wise)

Sandhya (Twillight)

Ratri (Night)

Prabha (Dawn)

Nitya (Enternal)

Jayotsana (Radiant like Flames)

Kantha (Radiant)

Khama (Embodiment of Forgivness)

Daya (Compassionate)

Bandhananashini (Detatcher of Attachments)

Mohashini (Destroyer os Desires)

Putrapamrityunashini (Sustainer of Son's untimely Death)

Dhanakshayanashini (Controller of wealth Decrease)

Vyadhinashini (Vanquisher of Aliments)

Mruthyunashini (Destroyer of Death)

Bhayanashini (Remover of fear)

Padmapatrakshi (Eyes like the lotus leaf)

Durga (Remover of destress)

Sharanya (Granter of Refuge)

Bhaktavastala (Lover of Devotees)

Saukhyada (Bestower of well beings)

Arogyada (Granter of Good health)

Rajayada (Bestower of Kingdom)

Ayurda (Granter of Longivity)

Vapurda (Granter of Beautiful Appearence)

Sutada (Granter of issues)

Pravasarakshika (Protector of Travellers)

Nagarakshika (Protector of Lands)

Sangramarakshika (Protector of wars)

Shatrusankata Rakshika (Protector of distress caused by Foes)

Ataviduhkhandhara Rakshika (Protector from Ignorance and Distress)

Sagaragirirakshika (Protector of Seas and Hills)

Sarvakaryasiddhi Pradayakika (Granter of Success in all Atempts)

Durga (Diety Durga)